Pittsburgh Hockey Digest

Burgh Hockey

Watt’s Bank Shot Give Wisconsin 2021 National Championship

ERIE, PA. — Daryl Watts capped her prolific collegiate career by bouncing a puck off of Aerin Frankel and into the net for the game-winner in overtime, giving the Wisconsin Badgers a 2-1 victory over the Northeastern Huskies on Saturday night at Erie Insurance Arena, as well as the 2021 National Championship. The goal occurred at 3:16 of the extra period.

The two teams played a tight, similar style of hockey that saw both get opportunities, but neither were able to capitalize in the first frame. When the game began to open up in the second each received power-play opportunities but remained deadlocked throughout.

Mackenna Webster and Chloe Aurard scored goals :39 apart in the final frame of regulation as the teams continued to battle for the gold.


The Badgers and Huskies had faced-off in 2020 at the Lemieux Sports Complex during the Battle of the Burgh tournament. Caitlin Schneider’s goal with a minute left in overtime gave Wisconsin the title that evening by a score of 3-2.


Pittsburgh Penguins Elite were well represented as Lacey Eden, Chalya Edwards and Gwen Phillips suited up for their respective squads. Eden joined Wisconsin in January as a recommitted transfer and scored 15 points in 14 games.


The All-Tournament team was named postgame and was headlined by Webster, who also won the Tournament MVP. Frankel, Alina Mueller and Skyler Fontaine joined Ashton Bell (University of Minnesota-Duluth), Webster and Caitlin Schneider on the All-Tournament Team.

To Top